Jason A. Wolf, PhD, CPXP
Founding Editor
President & CEO, The Beryl Institute

Jason is a passionate champion and recognized expert on patient experience improvement, organization culture and change, and sustaining high performance in healthcare. As President & CEO of The Beryl Institute, Jason has led the growth of the organization into the leading global community of practice and thought leader on improving the patient experience, engaging over 55,000 people in more than 75 countries and establishing the framework for the emerging profession of patient experience. Jason is the Founding Editor of the Patient Experience Journal, the first open-access, peer-reviewed journal committed to research and practice in patient experience improvement. He also established and currently serves as President of Patient Experience Institute, a non-profit, committed to the improvement of patient experience through evidence-based research, continuing education and professional certification. Jason is a sought after speaker, provocative commentator, and respected author of numerous publications and academic articles on culture, organization change and performance in healthcare, including two books on Organization Development in Healthcare and over 50 white papers and articles on patient experience excellence and improvement. Jason also received the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) 2018 Dean Conley Award for his article "Patient Experience: The New Heart of Healthcare Leadership," published in the spring 2017 issue of Frontiers of Health Services Management. A recovering marathoner – having run seven – Jason's proudest "accomplishment” remains his family. He currently resides in Nashville, TN with his wife, Beth and sons Samuel and Ian.

Geoffrey A. Silvera, PhD, MHA
Associate Editor
Assistant Professor of Health Services Administration, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Geoffrey believes in the power and influence of health care executives to positively impact patient experiences. As a healthcare management scholar with professional experience in hospital and physician practice settings, Geoffrey has seen the influence and import of the patient experience grow firsthand from a tangential consideration to a central focus in the evaluation of health care service quality. In his role as Associate Editor of the Patient Experience Journal (PXJ), Geoffrey has had the opportunity to contribute to establishing the field of patient experience alongside some of the greatest patient experience scholars and practitioners in the world. Geoffrey is an Assistant Professor at the University of Alabama’s Department of Health Services Administration. He received a B.S. and M.H.A at the University of Florida and his Ph.D. in Health Policy and Administration from Pennsylvania State University. When not working, Geoffrey enjoys spending time with his family.

Editorial Board

The Editorial Board for Patient Experience Journal brings together a global collection of leading thinkers, scholars and practitioners across healthcare. These individuals help frame the direction of the journal, ensure we maintain rigorous standards and provide a line of sight to the future as PXJ works to expand the dialogue on patient experience improvement. By contributing to research and writing, supporting the work of others and encouraging new ideas, the Patient Experience Journal Editorial Board helps to expand the exploration into evidence-based, high impact concepts and practices that will positively influence patient experience efforts around the world. Editorial Board members include:

Samereh Abdoli, Ph.D, RN, Assistant Professor of Nursing, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Britt Berrett, Ph.D., Program Director/Faculty, University of Texas at Dallas
Vishal Bhalla, MBA, MS, CPXP, Chief Experience Officer, Parkland Health & Hospital System
Megan Chavez, MS, FACHE, CPXP, Vice President, Patient and Family Experience, Cook Children's
Lihua Dishman, DBA, MBA, Associate Professor, Doctor and Master of Health Administration (DHA and MHA) Programs, College of Graduate Health Studies, A. T. Still University
Karen Drenkard, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Associate Dean, Clinical Practice & Community Engagement, The George Washington University School of Nursing
Andrew Gallan, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Florida Atlantic University - College of Business
Denise M. Kennedy, MBA, Clinical Assistant Professor, Arizona State University, College of Health Solutions, School for the Science of Health Care Delivery
Sherri LaVela, Ph.D., MPH, MBA, Research Health Scientist, Center of Innovation for Complex Chronic Care, Department of Veterans Affairs | Associate Professor, Research, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University
William G. Lehrman, Ph.D., Social Science Research Analyst, Division of Consumer Assessment & Plan Performance, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Daniel D. Maeng, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry - University of Rochester Medical Center
Dianne Marshburn, Ph.D., RN, Nursing Graduate Faculty Member, East Carolina University, College of Nursing
Joseph Michelli, Ph.D., Chief Experience Officer, The Michelli Experience
Erin Moore, BS, Lead Coproduction Advisor, Shift
Sophie Staniszewska, Ph.D., Professor, Patient and Public Involvement and Experiences of Care, Co-Editor in Chief, Research Involvement and Engagement, Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick (England)
Dominic Vachon, Ph.D., Director, Ruth M. Hillebrand Center for Compassionate Care in Medicine, University of Notre Dame

Board Members Emeriti

Stefan Agamanolis, PhD, Chief Innovation Officer, Akron Children’s Hospital.
Bill Boulding, Ph.D., Dean/J.B. Fuqua Professor of Business Administration, The Fuqua School of Business, Duke University
Bob Cottor, M.D., Board Member, Taos Institute
Christy Harris Lemak, PhD, FACHE, Chair, Department of Health Services Administration, UAB
Karen Luxford, Ph.D., CEO, Australian Council on Healthcare Standards
Vickie Niederhauser, Ph.D., RN, Dean, The University of Tennessee, 
College of Nursing
Zal Press, Founder, Patient Commando Productions / Former Co-Chair, Global Patient & Family Advisory Council, The Beryl Institute